· 

Achieving Your English Language Goals

I used to play video games. A lot. It was my "go to thing". My hobby, my interest, even my purpose. There were so many different games in so many different genres, it was overwhelming how many there were and still are. 

 

Why did I play so much? Simple. I felt like I gained some "skills" and had some sense of achievement completing whatever match, mission, or quest. It had a definite end; do this, that and the other and when it's completed you get a reward. Sometimes.

 

My "go to" game for many years(!) was Skyrim. This was a game with a few different play styles in it, many different characters to play as, a main story and many more side quests. You could complete the main goal but also keep going gaining more and more treasure, skills, characters and other such things. I think learning a different language can be like that.

 

What's your main goal for learning English?

Is it for work, pleasure or both?

Do you have a definite goal or is it your ongoing interest to know more?

 

If you have a definite target, for example, travel English, you can set your goal within a reasonable timescale.

"In three months, I will be able to communicate with hotel staff, ask for directions, order food at a restaurant and know some native etiquette."

Great! Here's your reward after three months. Da-da-da-daaah!

You can do it because of a definite goal and your efforts.

 

 

If you do have an English language goal, it's a great idea to work S.M.A.R.T.

S.M.A.R.T. is: Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic, Time-scale.

 

For example:

Specific - To be able to communicate with hotel staff, ask for directions, order food at a                               restaurant and know some native etiquette.

Measurable - English speakers understand me and I understand them.

Achievable - I have the materials, support, time, determination and skills to achieve these goals.

Realistic -  What I want to learn isn't too much so that I can regularly practice.

Time-scale - I can spend 20 minutes a day for three months, learning or practicing. That's about       30 hours; nine hours for each situation and three hours for native etiquette.

 

Masami and I sometimes hear something like, "I would love to speak English.". We'd reply, "That's great, how are you learning now?".

"I'm not learning now. I'm planning to learn in the Winter."

Mission failed.

If you're always planning to learn English, you will only have a plan and no English. 

 

If you have been studying English for a long time and you don't have a main obvious target for learning English, I'm sure you're achieving goals just because of your curiosity,

"Should I ask, 'Is there a MacDonald's in Sano?', or 'Are there any MacDonald's in Sano?'?

I'll look it up and talk about it with Masami in our next session."

Da-da-da-daaah! Side quest completed, gain an experience point.

 

 You can take a sip of English, just enough for you to know the taste.

Or, you can dive in, immerse yourself in it and swim in English, discovering new interesting/confusing/different/enlightening things.

Either way, Da-da-da-daaah! You have achieved.

 

Duncan.

 

Brown's English Language School (B.E.L.S.) is based in Sano, Tochigi.

We are a private school, here to help you with your English needs and wants.

We offer tailor-made classes just for you, online or in person.

To reach your English goals, contact us! 

Write a comment

Comments: 0