· 

Why don't you speak English even if you want to?

Hello. My name is Duncan Brown and I'm an English Facilitator, here a some of my thoughts about learning the English language.

I’m a British guy and I meet many Japanese people because, well, I live in Japan. My wife is Japanese, her relatives are Japanese, our neighbours are Japanese, my students are Japanese... Japanese people are everywhere! As I said, I live in Japan.

 

When I first arrived in Japan, one of the things that surprised me was that people tried to communicate in English with me. It was welcoming, I wasn’t being ignored and nor did I feel that I was causing trouble because of my lack of Japanese language. It was fun. I didn’t care about how good their English was. It was at worst, confusing but nice and at best, a relief. Ever tried going to a Dentist not knowing if you can communicate?

 

I know people spend a lot of time and money learning English whether it’s for work, school, travel, to exercise their brain, for personal achievement or for simple pleasure. BUT, when an opportunity is there to practice their English, nothing is done or said. I can empathise with the regret of a missed opportunity, so why does this happen?

 

Your level of English isn't good enough?

- Use the English you know, how ever little. “Hello, I’m Duncan.”, “I like...”, “I don’t like...”, “Do you like...?”, “Yes.”, “No.”.

 

Your English is too rusty?

- It will only rust away if you never use it and give it a polish.

 

You're too shy?

- EVERYONE is nervous to one degree or another but the people who are worth talking to will support you.

 

Chatting with a native English speaker is scary, impossible or intimidating?

- You can say riding a bike for the first time are these things but you kept trying until you did it.

 

Talking to other Japanese people in English is a waste of time?

- English is English. If I spoke to you in any native English accent you could argue that the pronunciation is wrong, the use of the word is incorrect or the grammar is wrong. But I'm speaking real English. Practice when you can with whoever you can .

 

If you have learnt English in the past and enjoyed it, if you have communicated in English with native speakers, if you have stayed in English speaking countries, if you are learning English at the moment, if you want to meet like-minded people, come to one of our "Hello..." events or look for an English Meet-Up in your local area. You’ve got nothing to lose except your English!

 

 

 

 

 

Brown’s English Language Schoolは、

 

・英語(受験英語、各種試験対策)

・英会話(おとな、こども)

・英語コミュニケーションスキル

 

を楽しく学べるスクールです。

対面・オンライン、どちらでの受講可能です。

 

また、

・知っていると役に立つ日本語と英語の違いセミナー

・英語コミュニケーション ワークショップ

・English Pronunciation Workshop

 

など、英語でコミュニケーションを取るために役に立つ

セミナーやワークショップを行っています。

 

 

Brown’s English Language School
Website: https://bels3.jimdofree.com/

FB: @BELS.sano

Instagram: @englishschool.bels.sano

 

 

***問い合わせ***

ご自身のペースに合わせてレッスンを取りたい方→こちら

英語コミュニケーションプログラム→こちら

 

 

♢♢♢お知らせ♢♢♢

英語はコミュニケーションのツール!
どのスキルを向上させればあなたの英語コミュニケーションスキルが向上するか知りたい方は、

bels.eigo@gmail.comへご連絡ください。  

Write a comment

Comments: 0